29th Annual Weston Creek Fun Run

29th Annual Weston Creek 6km Family Fun Run and Walk

( Incorporating the Guinness Cup)

10am, Sunday 16 October 2005

A good field of enthusiastic runners and walkers assembled for this year’s race, becoming part of a history dating back to 1978, when Colin Neave and Sue Gilbert took line honours. The 6km course was introduced in 2002 – NZ Olympic Marathoner Derek Froude has the record for the original 7.25km course, a record he set in 1982.

In near perfect race conditions the stage was set for a hotly contested challenge to Scott McTaggart’s 2004 record time of 17:53. Corey Tucker in a time of 18:05 proved too strong for Dean Cavuoto who crossed in 18:10, ahead of James Barker in 18:25 and Ben Wisbey in 21:13.

2005 World Long Distance Mountain Running Champion Emma Murray was first female, seventh outright, in a time of 21:39, with Anna Danielsson home second in 24:52, ahead of Leah Afiabo in 25:57 and Kayler Torley in 26:10.

I join Robbie Costmeyer in thanking all the volunteers and sponsors for their support, without which the success of the event would not have been possible.

Tim Sawkins

Race Director

Related Posts